Program

Conference Booklet

 

Session Papers

Session papers that can be downloaded are shown below with a download link. Papers without a link may be obtained by directly emailing the author.

SBFC2019 Session details with author approved downloadable links
Sessn
No.
Title Author Author Email
1A1 What Drives Global Lending Syndication? Effects of Cross-Country Capital Regulation Gaps Yeejin Jang, University of New South Wales, Australia y.jang@unsw.edu.au
1A2 Foreign-Currency Lending Panagiotis Politsidis, University of Sydney, Australia panagiotis.politsidis@sydney.edu.au
1A3 Why Do Underwriters Syndicate? Nirav Parikh, RMIT University Australia, Australia nirav.parikh@rmit.edu.au
1B1 Do IFIs Make a Difference? The Impact of EIB Lending Support for SMEs in Central and Eastern Europe During the Global Financial Crisis Adalbert Winkler, Frankfurt School of Finance & Management gGmbH, Germany a.winkler@fs.de
1B2 Board Effectiveness and Bank Soundness: Do Foreign Directors Increase Bank Risk-Taking David Tripe, Massey University, New Zealand D.W.Tripe@massey.ac.nz
1B3 Unconventional Monetary Policy and Bank Risk Taking Thomas Matthys, University of Technology Sydney, Australia thomas.matthys@uts.edu.au
1C1 Trust and Debt Contracting: Evidence from the Backdating Scandal Haekwon Lee, University of Sydney, Australia haekwon.lee@sydney.edu.au
1C2 CEO Social Network and Systemic Risk Sylvester Adasi Manu, City University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong S.A.R. sadasiman2-c@my.cityu.edu.hk
1C3 CEO Power and Bank Default Risk Searat Ali, University of Wollongong, Australia searat@uow.edu.au
1D1 IPO Performance and the Size Effect: Evidence for the US and Canada Lorne Switzer, Concordia University, Canada lorne.switzer@concordia.ca
1D2 Can Governance Help in Making an IPO “Successful”? New Evidence from Europe Valerio Pesic, University La Sapienza of Rome, Italy valerio.pesic@uniroma1.it
1D3 Predictability of ICO Success and Returns Dulani Jayasuriya, University of Auckland, New Zealand d.jayasuriya@auckland.ac.nz
1E1 Dynamics of SOFR vs Fed Funds Erik Schlögl, University of Technology Sydney, Australia erik.schlogl@uts.edu.au
1E2 Congenial Signals Are Hard to Resist: The Impact of News in a Selective Information Evaluation Stefanie Schraeder, University of New South Wales, Australia s.schraeder@unsw.edu.au
1E3 Dealer Trading at the Fix Carol Osler, Brandeis University, United States cosler@brandeis.edu
1F1 The World Price of Tail Risk Kuan Hui Lee, Seoul National University, Korea kuanlee@snu.ac.kr
1F2 Endogenous Participation, Risk, and Learning in the Stock Market Michael Shin, University of Sydney, Australia mikeshin.j@gmail.com
1F3 Cross Country Linkages and Transmission of Sovereign Risk: Evidence from Global Credit Default Swaps Markets Gaiyan Zhang, University of Missouri-St. Louis, United States zhangga@umsl.edu
2A1 The Pass-Through of Bank Capital Requirements to Corporate Lending Spreads Luisa Lambertini, Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne, Switzerland luisa.lambertini@epfl.ch
2A2 Network-Motivated Lending Decisions Yoshiaki Ogura, Waseda University, Japan yogura@waseda.jp
2A3 The Signalling Role of Trade Credit in Bank Lending Decisions Gabriele Sampagnaro, University of Naples Parthenope, Italy gabriele.sampagnaro@gmail.com
2B1 Positive Payment Shock and Default Risk of Home Equity Lines of Credit at End of Draw Herald Scheule, Univeristy of Technology Sydney, Australia harald.scheule@uts.edu.au
2B2 The Impact of the Introduction of Positive Credit Reporting on the Australian Credit-Seeking Population Andrew Grant, University of Sydney, Australia andrew.grant@sydney.edu.au
2B3 Common Ownership and Bank Risk-Taking: Evidence from the U.S. Banking industry Alex Haerang Park, Seoul National University, Korea widhpl@gmail.com
2C1 Coordination Failures, Bank Runs and Asset Prices Diemo Dietrich, Newcastle University, United Kingdom diemo.dietrich@newcastle.ac.uk
2C2 Risk Sharing, Creditor Diversity, and Bank Regulation Guangqian Pan, University of Sydney, Australia guangqian.pan@sydney.edu.au
2C3 Capital Ideas: Optimal Capital Reserve Strategies for a Bank and Its Regulator Kristoffer J. Glover, University of Technology Sydney, Australia kristoffer.glover@uts.edu.au
2D1 Female Directors, CEO Overconfidence and Excess Cash Onur Tosun, Cardiff University, United Kingdom TosunO@cardiff.ac.uk
2D2 When the Remedy Is the Problem: Independent Boards, Short-Termism, and the Subprime Crisis Peter Swan, University of New South Wales, Australia peter.swan@unsw.edu.au
2D3 Foreign Institutional Ownership and the Speed of Leverage Adjustment: International Evidence Donghui Li, College of Economics, Shenzhen University, China guangzhousjz@hotmail.com
2E1 Dynamic Switching Behaviour of Asset Classes of Australian Superannuation investment Options Banita Bissoondoyal-Bheenick, RMIT University, Australia banita.bissoondoyal-bheenick@rmit.edu.au
2E2 Trade Credit Provision and Stock Price Crash Risk Meng Wang, University of Nottingham Ningbo, China meng.wang@nottingham.edu.cn
2E3 What Drives the Dispersion Anomaly? Byoung-Kyu Min, University of Sydney, Australia byoungkyu.min@sydney.edu.au
2F1 Emergency Liquidity Injections Nicholas Garvin, Reserve Bank of Australia, Australia nick.j.garvin@gmail.com
2F2 Financial Conditions and Macroeconomic Risk in Australia Luke Hartigan, Reserve Bank of Australia, Australia HartiganL@rba.gov.au
2F3 The Drivers and Risks of Household Debt Michael Major, Reserve Bank of Australia, Australia majorm@rba.gov.au
3A1 Clogged Intermediation: Were Home Buyers Crowded Out? Jung-Eun Kim, Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond, United States Jung-Eun.Kim@rich.frb.org
3A2 Dismembered Giants: Bank Divestitures and Local Lending Yong Kyu Gam, Southwestern University of Finance and Economics, China yongkyu.gam@gmail.com
3A3 Geographic Networks and Spillovers Between Banks Shasta Shakya, Tulane University, United States sshakya@tulane.edu
3B1 Stock Market Liquidity and Bank Risk: The Evidence in Australian Banks During the Recent Crisis David Tripe, Massey University, New Zealand D.W.Tripe@massey.ac.nz
3B2 Systemic Risk Channels of Nonbank Financial Entities: Evidence from Hedge Funds and Mutual Funds Stefan Greppmair, University of Mannheim, Germany greppmair@uni-mannheim.de
3B3 Bailout Regimes and Banking Stability Miguel A. Duran, University of Malaga, Spain maduran@uma.es
3C1 Household Debt, Capital Market Efficiency, and the Real Economy Yunqi Zhang, Nankai University, China zhangyunqi@u.nus.edu
3C2 Adverse Selection in Credit Certificates: Evidence from a P2P Platform Maggie Hu, Chinese University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong S.A.R. maggiehu@cuhk.edu.hk
3C3 Do the Basel III Bail-in Rules Increase Investors’ Incentives to Monitor Banking Risks? Evidence from the Subordinated Debt Market James Cummings, University of Sydney, Australia james.cummings@sydney.edu.au
3D1 Last Minute Earning Forecast Revision Cunyu Xing, Southwestern University of Finance and Economics, China xingcunyu@swufe.edu.cn
3D2 Do Disclosures of Selective Access Improve Market information Acquisition Fairness? Evidence from Company Visits in China Cheng Xiang, Chongqing University, China xiangcheng@cqu.edu.cn
3D3 The Impact of Tightly-Contested Governance Proposals on Firms’ Narrative Disclosures: Evidence from a Regression-Discontinuity Design Arup Ganguly, University of Mississippi, United States aganguly@bus.olemiss.edu
3E1 Do Limits to Arbitrage Explain the Benets of Volatility-Managed Portfolios? Pedro Barroso, University of New South Wales, Australia pedro.ms.barroso@gmail.com
3E2 Time-Varying Lottery Anomalies Chenfei Sun, University of Sydney, Australia chenfei.sun@sydney.edu.au
3E3 Lottery or Asymmetric Response to News: Why Is Skewness Priced? Hang Wang, University of New South Wales, Australia hang.wang1@unsw.edu.au
3F1 Easy Money: the Inefficient Supply of Inside Liquidity Alessio Galluzzi, University of Sydney, Australia alessio.galluzzi@sydney.edu.au
3F2 Early Warning Systems Using Dynamic Factor Models - An Application to Asian Economies Chi Truong, Macquarie University, Australia chi.truong@mq.edu.au
3F3 Cross-Border Bank Flows and Monetary Policy Horacio Sapriza, Federal Reserve Board, United States horacio.sapriza@frb.gov
4A1 Reach for Yield by U.S. Public Pension Funds Andrei Zlate, Federal Reserve Board, United States andrei.zlate@frb.gov
4A2 Sovereign Debt Auction Method and Issuance Cost: Evidence from Iceland Mark Wu, Roger Williams University, United States markwu@rwu.edu
4A3 Macroeconomic Shocks and Bank Failure Qiongbing Wu, Western Sydney University, Australia l.wu@westernsydney.edu.au
4B1 The Effects of Bank Monitoring on Firm Value: The Role of Default Risk and Ownership Structure Wook Sohn, KDI School of Public Policy and Management, Korea wooksohn@kdischool.ac.kr
4B2 Philanthropy in Banking Raphael Jonghyeon Park, University of New South Wales, Australia jonghyeon.park@unsw.edu.au
4B3 The Precious Metals Holdings of Chinese Financial institutions Dirk Baur, University of Western Australia, Australia dirk.baur@uwa.edu.au
4C1 Peer Pressure: How Do Peer-to-Peer Lenders Affect Banks’ Cost of Deposits and Liability Structure? Santosh Koirala, University of Birmingham, United Kingdom s.koirala@bham.ac.uk
4C2 Moral Hazard in Consumer Unsecured Debt: Evidence from Canada Mandy Zhang, University of Sydney, Australia man.zhang@sydney.edu.au
4C3 Digging into the Black Box of Portfolio Replenishment in Securitization: Evidence from the ABS Loan-Level Initiative Arved Fenner, University of Münster, Germany arved.fenner@wiwi.uni-muenster.de
4D1 The Role of Perceived Risk in Debt Decisions Trang Phung, Massey University, New Zealand T.Phung@massey.ac.nz
4D2 The Impact of Investment Grade Cut-offs on Firms' Investment Decisions and Performance Seonhyeon Kim, Korea University, Korea ejejfl3@naver.com
4D3 Dividend Smoothing and the Allocation of Internal Cash Flow Bardia Khorsand, Australian National University, Australia bardia.khorsand@anu.edu.au
4E1 The Cost of Overconfidence in Public information Soosung Hwang, Sungkyunkwan University, Korea shwang@skku.edu
4E2 Cross Block Ownership of Traded Commercial Real Estate Portfolios: The Funding Optionality Value of Being Part of an Index Jocelyn Evans, College of Charleston, United States evansj@cofc.edu
4E3 Eastern Halloween Effect: A Stochastic Dominance Approach Ya LI, Open University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong S.A.R. yali@ouhk.edu.hk
5A1 Lending Relationship and the Transmission of Liquidity Shocks: Evidence from a Liquidity Crunch in China Qing He, School of Finance, Renmin University of China, China qinghe@ruc.edu.cn
5A2 Do Off-Balance-Sheet Activities Reduce Systemic Risk? Evidence from Listed Commercial Banks in China Henry Leung, University of Sydney, Australia henry.leung@sydney.edu.au
5A3 Parasitic Shadow Banking of Non-Financial Firms: Arbitrage Between Formal and Informal Credit Markets in China Julan Du, Chinese University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong S.A.R. julan.du@foxmail.com
5B1 For Whom the Levy tolls: The Case of a Macroprudential Stability Levy in South Korea JaeBin Ahn, Seoul National University, Korea jaebin.ahn@gmail.com
5B2 Governance of Financial Sector Policies in the Post-Crisis Era Katia D'Hulster, The World Bank, United States kdhulster@worldbank.org
5B3 The Impact of Bank Supervision on Corporate Credit: Evidence from Syndicated Loan Reviews James Wang, Federal Reserve Board, United States james.z.wang@frb.gov
5C1 Inter-Industry FDI Spillovers from Foreign Banks: Evidence in Follower Countries Shusen Qi, Xiamen University, China shusenqi@xmu.edu.cn
5C2 Comovement and Contagion in Commodity Markets Rangga Handika, Tokyo International University, Japan rhandika@tiu.ac.jp
5C3 Time-Varying Government Bond Market Integration in Asia: Dependency and Connectedness Piyush Pandey, Shailesh J Mehta School of Management IIT Bombay, India piyush@som.iitb.ac.in
5D1 Is an Informative Stock Price Used Less in Incentive Contracts? Peter Swan, University of New South Wales, Australia peter.swan@unsw.edu.au
5D2 Deleveraging, Market Liquidity, and Funding Liquidity Crisis: Evidence from a Natural Experiment Buhui Qiu, University of Sydney, Australia buhui.qiu@sydney.edu.au
5D3 Tunneling through Group Trademarks Sojung Kim, Korea University, Korea sjkim5280@gmail.com
5E1 Passive Trading and Performance: A Quasi Natural Experiment Using the Stock Exchange Merger in Japan Kazuo Yamada, Ritsumeikan University, Japan k-yamada@fc.ritsumei.ac.jp
5E2 Do Intraday Auctions Improve Market Liquidity? Zhou Zhou, University of Sydney, Australia z.zhou@sydney.edu.au
5E3 Round-Number Biases on Trading Time: Evidence from International Markets Tao Chen, University of Macau, Macau torochen@um.edu.mo
6A1 Economic Uncertainty and Bank Risk: Evidence from Emerging Economies Bang Nam Jeon, Drexel University, United States jeonbana@drexel.edu
6A2 Bank FX Hedging Needs and the Impact on Covered Interest Parity, An Emerging Market Perspective Georgia Bush, Bank of Mexico, Mexico gbush@banxico.org.mx
6A3 Global Shock and Foreign Bank Lending: Choice of Home and Local Currency Loans in Indonesia Yuki Masujima, Bloomberg L.P., Japan ymasujima@bloomberg.net
6B1 Banks Capital, Risks and Profitability at European Banks Valerio Pesic, University La Sapienza of Rome, Italy valerio.pesic@uniroma1.it
6B2 Credit Risk Assessment in Real Estate investment Trusts: A Perspective on Blockholding and Lending Networks Masayasu Kanno, Nihon University, Japan kanno.masayasu@nihon-u.ac.jp
6B3 The Impact of Loan-Loss-Provision Regulation on Credit: Evidence from Administrative Data in Chile Mauricio Calani, Central Bank of Chile, Chile mmcalani@gmail.com
6C1 Flight to Quality - Gold Mining Shares versus Gold Bullion Dirk Baur, University of Western Australia, Australia dirk.baur@uwa.edu.au
6C2 Contagion or Interdependence? Comparing Signed and Unsigned Spillovers Raisul Islam, University of Tasmania, Australia raisul.islam@utas.edu.au
6C3 Monetary Transmission in Money Markets: A Divisia Component Investigation Victor Valcarcel, University of Texas at Dallas, United States vjv150130@utdallas.edu
6D1 What Drives the Declining Wealth Effect of Subsequent Share Repurchase Announcements? Hardjo Koerniadi, Auckland University of Technology, New Zealand hardjo.koerniadi@aut.ac.nz
6D2 Political Connections and Firms’ Access to Finance: An Inter-Institutional Perspective Chunxia Jiang, Business School, University of Aberdeen, United Kingdom chunxia.jiang@abdn.ac.uk
6D3 Managerial Heterogeneity in Risk-Taking Incentives: How Does It Affect Firm Risk and Performance? Thao Hoang, Australian National University, Australia thao.hoang@anu.edu.au
6E1 The Changing Role of Foreign Investors in Tokyo Stock Price Formation Clinton Watkins, Graduate School of Economics, Kobe University, Japan watkins@econ.kobe-u.ac.jp
6E2 The Pricing Implications of the Oligopolistic Securities Lending Market: A Beneficial Owner Perspective Zsuzsa Huszar, Central European University, Hungary HuszarZs@ceu.edu
6E3 IEX’s Speed Bump and Its Effect on Adverse Selection Zhe Peng, Wilfrid Laurier University, Canada peng6020@mylaurier.ca
7A1 Interbank Network Characteristics, Monetary Policy "News" and Sensitivity of Bank Stock Returns Amine Tarazi, University of Limoges and IUF France, France tarazi@unilim.fr
7A2 Old-Boy Networks, Capital Injection, and Banks' Returns: Evidence from Japanese Banks David Vera, California State University, Fresno, United States dvera@csufresno.edu
7A3 Betting Against Bank Profitability Md Akhtaruzzaman, Australian Catholic University, Australia Md.Akhtaruzzaman@acu.edu.au
7B1 Regulators' Disclosure Decisions: Evidence from Bank Enforcement Actions Anya Kleymenova, University of Chicago Booth School of Business, United States Anya.Kleymenova@chicagobooth.edu
7B2 Why Is Financial Misconduct Procyclical? Tim Kooijmans, Monash University, Australia tim.kooijmans@monash.edu
7B3 The Impact of TARP Capital Infusions on Bank Liquidity Creation: Does Bank Size Matter? Chen Zheng, Curtin University, Australia Chen.Zheng@curtin.edu.au
7C1 Death and the Life Hereafter- A Study of Relaunched Hedge Funds Juan Yao, University of Sydney, Australia juan.yao@sydney.edu.au
7C2 The Volcker Rule and the Hedge Fund Circle of Liquidity Lijie Yu, Alliance Manchester Business School, United Kingdom lijie.yu@postgrad.manchester.ac.uk
7C3 Hedge Fund Activism and Capital Structure Abhishek Ganguly, Indiana University, United States abhigang@iu.edu
7D1 Acquisitions and Cost of Debt: Evidence from China Kun (Tracy) Wang, Australian National University, Australia kun.wang@anu.edu.au
7D2 Post-M&A Performance and Failure: Implications of Time Until Deal Completion Ephraim Thompson, Korea University, Korea kwatom002@korea.ac.kr
7D3 Overlapping Insiders and Method of Payment in Acquisitions: New Tests and Evidence on Adverse Selection Varun Jindal, Indian Institute of Management Calcutta, India varunj14@iimcal.ac.in
7E1 Institutional Shareholder Distraction and Stock Price Crash Risk Svetlana Orlova, University of Tulsa, United States svo053@utulsa.edu
7E2 Can Illiquidity Be Priced in an Active Secondary Market? Theory and Evidence Pallab Dey, University of New South Wales, Australia p.dey@unsw.edu.au
7E3 Time for Dinner? No, for Risk Contraction Ekaterina Serikova, University of St. Gallen (HSG), Switzerland ekaterina.serikova@unisg.ch
8A1 The Impact of the Dodd-Frank Act on Small Business Rebel Cole, Florida Atlantic University, United States coler@fau.edu
8A2 The Optimal Look-Back Period for Adequate and Less Procyclical Credit Capital Forecasts Yongwoong Lee, Hankuk University of Foreign Studies, Korea ywlee@hufs.ac.kr
8A3 Can Repatriation Tax Holidays Teach us Something about Monetary Policy Transmission? Esteban Argudo Valverde, Vassar College, United States eargudo@vassar.edu
8B1 Determinants of Banks’ Liquidity: A French Perspective on Market and Regulatory Ratio interactions Cyril Pouvelle, Bank of France, France cyril.pouvelle@acpr.banque-france.fr
8B2 Internal Credit Risk Models and Bank Return: Should Regulators Restrict the Use of Internal Models? Victoria Boehnke, University of Münster, Germany victoria.boehnke@wiwi.uni-muenster.de
8B3 When It Pays to Borrow If Downgraded: Firm Credit Ratings and the Basel II Accord Panagiotis Politsidis, University of Sydney, Australia panagiotis.politsidis@sydney.edu.au
8C1 Collateral Enforcement and Strategic Behavior: Evidence From a Foreclosure Moratorium in Greece Nikolaos Artavanis, Virginia Tech, United States nartavan@vt.edu
8C2 The Size and Ownership of Private Credit Bureaus Artashes Karapetyan, ESSEC, France karapetyan@essec.edu
8C3 Regulatory Reform, Multiple Credit Ratings and the Quality of the Corporate Information Environment He Huang, University of Sydney, Australia he.huang@sydney.edu.au
8D1 Corporate Propensity to Dissave Alexander Vadilyev, Australian National University, Australia alexander.vadilyev@anu.edu.au
8D2 Shareholder Litigation and Readability in Financial Disclosures: Evidence from a Natural Experiment Lin Ge, University of Mississippi, United States lge@bus.olemiss.edu
8D3 Asymmetric Reactions of Abnormal Audit Fees Jump to Credit Ratings Changes June Cao, Macquarie University, Australia june.cao@mq.edu.au
8E1 How Does Market Behave Around the Aggressive Orders? Barbara Bedowska-Sójka, University of Economics and Business, Poznan, Poland barbara.bedowska-sojka@ue.poznan.pl
8E2 Can Fast and Slow Liquidity Providers Co-Exist in Modern Equity Markets? Arseny Gorbenko, University of New South Wales, Australia a.gorbenko@unsw.edu.au
8E3 Does Exposure to Product Market Competition Discipline or Spur Insider Trading? Dewan Rahman, University of Queensland, Australia d.rahman@business.uq.edu.au
Untitled Document